All that Glitters….

ALL THAT IS GOLD DOES NOT GLITTER

All that is gold does not glitter,                                                                                             Not all those who wander are lost;                                                                                      The old that is strong does not wither,                                                                               Deep roots are not reached by the frost.                                                                    From the ashes a fire shall be woken,                                                                                  A light from the shadows shall spring;                                                                  Renewed shall be blade that was broken,                                                                           The crownless again shall be king.

This is a poem written by JRR Tolkien.  I have seen many times the line “Not all who wander are lost”.  Have you really looked at this poem in depth and felt what he is trying to say?  The meaning is deep.  From my own point of view, this is what I take as the meaning of it: 

All that is gold does not glitter.  I feel like he is talking here about finding someone who may not look so fancy all the time or even may not be perfect or handsome, but they love you with all their heart and for all their lives.  Someone once told me that they ‘love me from afar’.  Nowadays, I know what they meant.  We were not good for each other, nor good to each other, therefore we were not meant to be together, but, we both keep love in our hearts for one another, though, wishing the other happiness and peace.  

My take on the next line may be different, but, Not all those who wander are lost, reminds me of the hobo or bag lady type.  Not all, but some, are out there because they choose to be.  They may not agree with society or it’s ways.  They probably think that acquiring possessions is not more important than doing what they love or going where ever they choose to go.  They are very likely smarter than most people give them credit for.  They may not wish to be a strain on their family when they are old or sick with a costly or deadly disease.  They may wish to wander around in a warmer climate rather than cause embarrassment to their family because society often judges people. 

The old that is strong does not wither.  Deep roots are not reached by the frost.     The deep roots represent to me your own spiritual beliefs.  You can not give in to what others want if it goes against what you believe in.  I cannot and will not change my spiritual thinking just because someone wants me to.  Believe me, they have tried.  People in my family do not agree with my spirituality.  They do not want to learn anything about it and I don’t push it on them.  I don’t understand how they can judge me when they don’t know what they are talking about.  My sister has seen the sticker on my door that says “Protected by Witchcraft” and will not come inside.  She is afraid to learn anything about my religion, yet she thinks that because her religion tells her so, it is bad.  How is it bad to try to help the earth?

From the ashes a fire shall be woken.  A light from the shadows shall spring.  The ashes and shadows reminds me of really bad times in my life that I lived through.  Do I regret it?  Yes, in some ways I do.  But I would not change it for it has made me who I am today.   I love who I am.

Renewed shall be blade that was broken. The crownless, again, shall be king.  There were times in my life when I felt broken, but I managed to live through it.  Nobody has kept me down, although some have tried very hard.  I live the life that I want to, and you should, too. 

Leave a Reply

